The 7 Main Chakras

Chakra and Aura

Base Chakra

Location: Bottom of the spine (at the coccyx)

Colour: Red (its secondary colour is black)

Organs: Adrenal Glands, bladder, genitals and spine

Element: Earth

Functions: Giving vitality in the physical body, the survival and self-preservation traits are situated here. Home and possessions. Finances and the material world. This is where the instinct resides.

Metaphysical Qualities: Matters relating to the material world. Mastery over the physical body, grounding, individuality, stability, stillness, health, courage and patience.

Negative Qualities: Self-centred, insecurity, violence, greed, anger. Over protective of physical self, spinal tension, constipation.


Location: Lower abdomen to navel area. Inch below navel

Colour: Orange

Element: Water

Organs: Reproductive organs, uro-genital system, kidneys, gonads, legs.

Functions: Sexuality, enjoyment of life, warmth, self-esteem, relationships, desire, assimilation of food, digestion. Weight issues

Metaphysical Qualities: Giving and receiving, emotions, clairsentience, desire, pleasure, sexual/passionate love, change, movement, absorbing new ideas, health, family, tolerance, surrender. Body image

Negative Qualities: Over-indulgence in food, drink or sex. Sexual difficulties. Confusion, purposelessness, jealousy, envy, desire to possess, impotence, bladder problems. Distorted body issues. Disturbed sleep patterns.

Solar Plexus

Location: Above the navel/below the chest

Colour: Yellow

Element: Fire

Organs: Stomach, gall bladder, liver, pancreas, solar plexus, nervous system, muscles.

Functions: Vitalizes nervous system, metabolism, digestion, and emotions.

Metaphysical Qualities: Will, personal power, confidence, creativity, authority, energy, mastery of desire, self-control, radiance, warmth, awakening, laughter, immortality, humour, strength. This chakra needs to be strengthened for all psychic work.

Negative Qualities: Negative desire for power (power-hungry), control, perfectionist,  demanding, lack of confidence, anger fear, hate, digestive problems


Location: Centre of chest

Colour: Green (secondary colour pink)

Element: Air

Organs: Heart, thymus gland, circulatory system, arms, hands, lungs.

Functions: Anchors the life force from the Higher Self. Energises physical body and blood. Blood circulation.

Metaphysical Qualities: Divine/unconditional love. Giving and receiving love, forgiveness, compassion, self-acceptance, understanding, balance, group consciousness, acceptance, peace, openness, harmony and contentment.

Negative Qualities: Repression of Love, emotional instability, oversensitive, overly sympathetic, moodiness, unbalanced heart problems, blood circulation problems, unforgiving


Location: Throat Area

Colour: Sky Blue

Element: Ether/Akasha

Organs: Thyroid, parathyroid, hypothalamus, throat, mouth, upper lungs, arms, digestive tract

Functions: Speech, sound, vibration, communication

Metaphysical Qualities: Power of the spoken word. True communication, creative expression, integration, peace, truth, knowledge, wisdom, loyalty, honesty, reliability, gentleness, kindness, sense of responsibility. Channelling.

Negative Qualities: Communication and speech problems, knowledge used unwisely, ignorance, lack of discernment, depression, thyroid problems

Brow (third eye)

Location: Centre of forehead, between the eyebrows

Colour: Indigo (dark blue)

Element: Light

Organs: Pituitary gland, left eye, nose, ears, spine

Functions: Vitalizes lower brain (cerebellum) and central nervous system, vision

Metaphysical Qualities: Soul realisation, intuition, insight, imagination, clairvoyance, telepathy, concentration, peace of mind, wisdom, devotion, perception, thought control, inner vision, understanding, inspiration, spiritual awakening.

Negative Qualities: Lack of concentration, fear, cynicism, tension, headaches, eye problems, bad dreams, overly detached from the world.


Location: Top of the head, half in head and half protruding

Colour: Violet

Element: Thought/Will

Organs: Pineal gland, cerebral cortex, central nervous system, right eye

Functions: Vitalises upper brain

Metaphysical Qualities: Unification of the Higher Self with the personality. Claircognizance, Oneness with the infinite, spiritual will, inspiration, unity, divine wisdom and understanding, idealism, selfless service, perception beyond time and space, continuity of consciousness, connection to inner-guidance.

Negative Qualities: Lack of inspiration, confusion, depression, alienation, hesitation to serve, senility

Other important Chakras

Ear Chakras

The ear chakras are located just above the ears around the temple area. Their colour is reddish-violet. They assist in divine and spirit communication. Depending on their health they can be responsible for hearing positive or negative personal inner chat and negativity from the environment or those around you. Clear and open ear chakras are essential for developing clairaudience.

Palm and Finger Chakras

There are many chakras located in the palms of the hands and in the finger tips. Hands-on healers use these chakras when channelling Universal Energy. This energy flowing from the chakras in the hand is often experienced as a cool breeze or rush of air.

Feet Chakras

Again like the chakras in the hands, they are located on the soles of the feet and toes. To maintain a strong connection to the earth (to be grounded), these chakras need to be open and clear. Cool rushing air will be felt to flow from them or a tingling sensation when energy is being channelled through them and into the earth. Any negative energy released during cleansing will often flow out of the extremities, i.e., the hands and feet and can be felt as icy air. This negative energy will flow into the earth where it will be recycled or transmuted.

Transpersonal Chakras

These are chakras that operate on a more spiritual cosmic level and are outside our awareness. They are known as the Etheric Heart in the upper chest which stimulates connection to the World Soul. The Soul Star which channels spiritual energy and the Earth Star which is about a foot below our feet and is responsible for connecting us with earth energies. It is important to develop the Soul and Earth Star at the same time. That is why we practice drawing energy in through the crown and out the souls of the feet and then in reverse. It is what keeps us connected between the heavens and earth and is necessary to maintain mental balance and to remain grounded.

The Chakra System

Chakra Meditation

Back to Lesson 6


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.