Lesson 2 – Knights

The Four Knights – Wands, Cups, Swords and Pentacles

Knight of Wands Upright  Knight of Cups Upright Knight of Swords Upright Knight of Pentacles Upright

Like the four Pages, the four Knights in the Tarot represent people, situations, atmospheres, advice or message based on the energies of the particular Knight. They generally represent males between 22 and 30 years of age but they can represent a female if their energy fits.  If a Knight turns up and the querant is convinced it represents someone much older than 30 then it would suggest that there is immaturity evident in this person.

The Knights are extreme in their nature and we must look to their governing element to determine such nature.  The Knight of Wands can be extreme in his enthusiasm and actions, the Knight of Cups can be extremely emotional, the Knight of Swords can be extremely stressed and agitated and the Knight of Pentacles can be overly cautious and un-adventurous.  They represent the exuberance of the adolescent years of the Court Cards.  Their energy is exuberant and outward.  He is full of ideas and promise and determined to make his mark.  We must remember that these Knights are like the young teenager or adult. They are just finding their way in the world and are prone to make mistakes.  In general most of these mistakes are just part of growing up.  It is only when they reverse that mistakes can become disaster. At this stage of their growth, the Knights may very well believe they are invincible and immortal.

The Knights represent the fiery part of the Suits and this is found in strength in the Knight of Wands who is bursting with exuberance, enthusiasm and excitement at the prospects of life and travel. The Knight of Cups, romantic and sensitive, being the fiery part of Water uses the energies of the Fire element to take action on his feelings and emotions. The Knight of Swords, quick minded and talkative being the fiery part of Air uses the Fire element to fuel him in order to think and act swiftly. The Knight of Pentacles, serious, committed and responsible, being the fiery part of Earth, the Fire element influences him to do something about his long-term goals.

Three or more Knights in a reading suggest much activity around the issue. They also represent study and learning..

Groupings in the Zodiac


Genders are signs that are either Masculine/Positive or Feminine/Negative. When we refer to genders in the Zodiac it does not refer to their sex but rather the archetypal attributes associated with the  masculine and feminine in everyone.  The Masculine Zodiac Signs tend to be more extroverted, sociable and outwardly driven. The Feminine Zodiac Signs tend to be more introverted, less sociable and inwardly focused. Neither the positive or the negative have anything to do with one been better than the other. When we refer to Postive and Negative signs in the Zodiac we refer to their Polarity. Masculine and Feminine references appear in the Tarot constantly and another aspect of them is when we refer to the Conscious  – Outward Focus (Masculine) and Subconscious –  Inward Focus (Feminine).

The Masculine Signs are: – Fire and Air

Aries, Leo, Sagittarius, Gemini, Libra and Aquarius

The Feminine Signs are: Water and Earth

Taurus,  Virgo, Capricorn, Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces

Triplicities or Elements

These groupings are formed by the Four Elements of life and are Fire, Water, Air and Earth. Three signs are associated to each element.

Fire – Aries, Leo and Sagittarius   –  Enthusiasm

Water – Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces  –  Emotionality

Air – Gemini, Libra and Aquarius  –  Intellectualism

Earth – Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn  –  Practicality

Traditonally certains Elements get on better with others. Certain Elements complement other Elements. Certain Elements  can equally draw or repel other Elements. Certain Elements don’t mix too well at all. The understanding in both the Tarot and Zodiac is that we all need a certain degree of  each Element in us to keep us happily balanced and that it is painfully obvious when a certain Element is either lacking or in excess.

The Quadruplicities or Qualities

The third group is broken into three types of energy. These are

Cardinal – Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn – Spontaneous and Sociable

Fixed  –  Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius – Determined and Rigid

Mutable – Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces  –  Versatile and Flexible

The Polarities

Each Zodiac Sign is paired with its distinct Polar or opposite Sign which is found directly across from it in the Zodiac Circle. There is usually a special connection between the Polar Pairings and tend to have a better understanding of and are more tolerant towards each other.

The Polar Pairings are:








The Planets’ influences are particularly strong in the signs they rule.

Aries – Mars – Physical energy, Iniative

Taurus – Venus – Love, harmony, sensuality

Gemini – Mercury –  Intellect, communication

Cancer – Moon – Instinct, intuition, emotion, responsiveness

Leo – Sun – Self Expression, vitality

Virgo – Mercury –  Intellect, communication

Libra – Venus – Love, harmony, sensuality

Scorpio – Pluto – Elimination, eruptive change

Sagittarius – Jupiter – Expansion

Capricorn – Saturn – Stability, restriction, limitation, control

Aquarius – Uranus – Change, disruption, shock

Pisces  –  Neptune – Cloudiness, unreality


Air SignsFire Signs,   Water Signs   Earth Signs

Pages Intro   Knights Intro   Queens Intro    Kings Intro

Knight of Wands   Knight of Cups   Knight of Swords   Knight of Pentacles

Back to Lesson 2

Lesson 1

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.